12 gauge coyote loads...

Deer. Moose, Elk, Bear, Lions just large game.

Moderator: hawglips

DAA

12 gauge coyote loads...

Postby DAA » Wed Dec 28, 2016 4:51 pm

Hey All, noob here...

It's going to be a few months before I can do anything, so this is just bench racing, for me, for now.

But, sooner or later, I'm going to have to try some TSS loads on coyote. Maybe a brief introductory note is in order here - that's all I use a shotgun for, at this point, is coyote. Plan is to get a Benelli M2 within the next couple of months, then start in heavy with patterning and load testing. And at some point, seeing what can be done to push the envelope of coyote shotgunning using TSS.

Primary objective is Dead Right There performance, under a given set of conditions. A well centered pattern within a given distance equals a coyote that drops on the spot and doesn't get back up again.

My current go-to loads are (3" 12 gauge) 1-1/2 oz. of Hevi shot BB w/TEF choke and a 1-3/4 oz. load of nickel plated lead F w/Dead Coyote choke (870 Express). The HS BB is great for 45 yards and under, nicely sized dense pattern and "pretty good" penetration, but lacks a little punch for coyotes at 45+ and especially coyotes going away and offering their retreating hind end at 45+. The NP F definitely penetrates and breaks down those longer and going away coyote better, but at the expense of pattern size and ease of hits on closer shots. In a nutshell, the HS BB is easier to hit them with but the NP F kills better at the margins.

When I get to experimenting with TSS it will be with an eye towards improving performance over the above.

From a purely theoretical standpoint - not grounded in extensive actual experience - so please feel free to point out the errors in my thinking, but "what I'm thinking" is:

- Two separate applications (with overlap being major bonus)
- Increased lethality and one shot DRT ratio at "normal" range (under 50 yards) via increased pellet count and penetration